• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

My first Irvin !

bombs away

Hello,

Finally, after months of hesitation (I'm collecting USAAF uniforms and gear, but so many US airmen used RAF equipment that I finally have enough RAF items in my collection to make a RAF display), I've just had a nice opportunity on an Irvin jacket that helped me to take my decision.

I'm a newbie in Irvin jackets so any information would be welcomed.
I know it's called a late war Irvin because it's "multi panelled", but what period is considered "late war" ?
Any idea of a maker ?
No label inside, but it's a nice size 42 (I wear a 44 and it's just a bit short on the body but long enough on the sleeves).

I must admit that the quality of RAF equipment is always a step further than the US ones. I knew this about flight gloves, flight helmets or flight boots (and the US airmen weren't fool to run after these items !), but with this Irvin, here also the superior quality of the English stuff is amazing.
I own a few B-3s to compare, but the Irvin is far better made. Strong zippers, quality of the shearling, comfort, zippers on the sleeves, waistbelt... all is very usefull, and stronger !
And I just have a late war pattern, I just can imagine that pre-war ones are even better.

Let the pictures speak by themselves :
4089286611_7a305d5b18_b.jpg

4089286899_2b85dccdf5_b.jpg

4089288085_f6d9eb15f9_b.jpg

4089287631_0bba0284a2_b.jpg

4090063318_9d7c56a364.jpg

And... in situation :
4089288567_9824057822_b.jpg

Tim.

Roughwear