• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

G-1 Collection: 55J14 - 7823D

917_k

Evening All,

Having been a long-time lurker and (apologies) very occasional poster, this pandemic lockdown has given me the opportunity to finally sort through some photos of my jacket collection, which I thought I'd share with the forum. I've been collecting US military jackets of all types since 2017, when I happened upon a Real Mccoys catalogue in an independent magazine shop in my hometown, Brighton. I'd collected militaria as a kid (now In my early 30s) and had mostly left it behind, but I'm now truly hooked on this. I've got a growing collection of different pieces which I'll share, but I thought id start with my favourite flight jacket: the G-1.

EA435AF5-B304-431F-9187-53DF17C21BEB.jpeg

From left to right: A Pritzer & Son's 55J14, 2x Cagleco Sportswear 7823(AER) & Brill Bros 7823D.

The 55J14 is I believe a 1951 contract year and is in fairly decent condition, with the mouton fur mostly intact and what appear to be original knits, although the zipper is bust. I actually picked this up in a junk shop and whilst the price wasn't especially cheap, I was really happy to add one of these rare jackets to the collection.

D9702DCE-7C38-45CD-95FF-870D88C002D6.jpeg

79C69FC4-829B-4150-8F1F-94C81F9BB981.jpeg

3037F26F-1F0A-4A16-90B8-B886BD1323C1.jpeg