• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Current issue G1 qustion

PeterB

Hi

I am a newbie here so bear with me asking a very basic question. I have 3 Excelled G1s. The first is 2001 and the other two are from 2008. Looking at the net it looks like Pharr is the current contract holder but i have not seen any jackets from them later then 2005. So is Excelled still the manufacturer or are they both?

Other question is US Wings claim that they are the sole supplier to the USCG. Surely that can not be as the G1s that they are selling are not the same spec as the USN ones? Or is it a case of they supply the G1s as a private purchase to individual units?

Many thanks

Peter

Atticus

PeterB said:
Hi

I am a newbie here so bear with me asking a very basic question. I have 3 Excelled G1s. The first is 2001 and the other two are from 2008. Looking at the net it looks like Pharr is the current contract holder but i have not seen any jackets from them later then 2005. So is Excelled still the manufacturer or are they both?

Other question is US Wings claim that they are the sole supplier to the USCG. Surely that can not be as the G1s that they are selling are not the same spec as the USN ones? Or is it a case of they supply the G1s as a private purchase to individual units?

Many thanks

Peter

Welcome, Peter. I'm not sure who currently supplies G-1s to the Navy. In some years, more than one manufacturer has a contract. Pharr and Excelled are both recent suppliers.

I believe the G-1 used by the USCG is a bit different than the Navy version in that it has side-entry pockets. Not sure who makes it. At one point, Branded Leather (Orchard) did.

AF

Marv