• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Bill Kelso "Aeronaut A-1"

geedee

Hi everyone, I'm a complete noob - first post! - and was looking for some advice; it sounds like you guys have got tons of experience so I'm in the right place for sure! I've been looking at this jacket for a while now, and wondered if anyone had any experience with this particular style? I'm thinking of the Russet Liberty Capeskin over HH - any experience of this leather, how it ages, what the colour looks like in reality versus the website photos? Thanks for your help guys!

mulceber

I haven't experienced BK's capeskin, although I know it's well-regarded. Capeskin is really nice stuff, but it's not known for being tough. It's a pretty light leather. It's very much like lambskin in both those respects, although it's got a lot more character than most lambskin. If that sounds great to you, then you're all set. If you'd prefer something tougher, I'd consider goatskin, horsehide or BK's Badalassi cowhide, any of which will take a beating and come back for more.

The Aeronaut's a neat looking Cossack jacket. I've got a similar jacket from a different maker, and while it's nice, I tend to go in more for military styles (which BK also does quite well).

One word of advice that most BK buyers experience: after you place your order, it will take several months to make it. During that time, don't expect to hear from them. Do not worry though - you will get your jacket, and it will be excellent.

B-Man2

Welcome to VLJ GD!
Mulceber has offered some good advice regarding the jacket you’re interested in acquiring . While it’s named the Aeronaut A1 most of us here know that jacket by another name , which is a Cossack jacket made famous by Albert Einstein who wore one for a number of years . See below.