• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

AN-J-3 auction

Nabodie

No time like now for a first post I guess. While I was browsing about the bay this afternoon I cam upon an interesting auction. http://www.ebay.com/itm/261318463536?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2648 Looks like a really nice jacket, and from the measurements given I believe it will fit me. I am planning on bidding on this but was wondering if any of you gents. see anything wrong with it? I am fairly new to this addiction and thought I'd ask your opinions before I jump in on this.

Peter Graham

Hi, welcome to the forum. I'm far from being an expert on these jackets but it looks like a particularly fine example of an AN-J-3 to me. It's definitely an original jacket and not a repro. That's for sure. Good luck with it.

Dr H

Welcome.
Be prepared to bid strongly though.
It's a particularly good example of one of the rarest contracts in a larger size.

Nabodie

Thanks Guys, These are beautiful jackets combining the best of both the A2 and the G1, shame they weren't adopted for the services.

Dr H

Dig deep, my last AN-J-3 (a ropier example of the same, or a similar, contract) made £600+

Nice jacket! Now I am a little confused. In the Ebay listing, Chapman is quoted as saying that these jackets..or at least the Navy-preferred design variants.. did not have an "AN" label fitted..but here is another forum post of a determined-authentic ANJ-3 with an AN label fitted. viewtopic.php?f=7&t=15826

Is is all just poor reading comprehension on my part? Or..since this jacket design was never officially adopted is every example essentially a mockup?

TIA for any guidance from the Wise Ones.

Dr H

Never seen an official AN-J-3 label (they were all removed before being sold on or retailed).