• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

The evolution of Nylon...

Tim P

I read the threads here and I am astounded by the intimate knowledge of contracts and specs.
I am happy that I can spot real from repro and trace the lineage of the various types of jacket from B15b or L2a through to nomex but when it comes to the nuances I am a novice and as for manufacturers variations.....forget it.....
I pick up stuff like squared off windflaps on Ma1's such as the lion but I would love to see a timeline reference sticky compiled for each main jacket (or parka) type and notable anomalies posted here.

Anyone able to set the ball rolling?

watchmanjimg

I'd love to help but it would take some time to pull everything out and take pictures. Sounds like a great idea though.

Tim P

How about a thread that anyone can access and add what they know

for instance

Type L2, Manufactured in the immediate post ww2 era from an Olive shade of nylon, the liner being of a different grade to the shell blah

Manufacturer unique feature
Alfred Berry Sportswear squared off tab at the bottom of the zip
Spokane flight clothing inc sateen lining rather than nylon. Crown zip .
Excel industries Ball snap fasters instead of 'durable brand'

deand

Yes! A great idea. I figured someone was going to simply refer interested persons to one of those Japanese books that are about as overpriced as their repro nyon. :) I wish I could help compile such a reference.

dean

Tim P

I wish the repro nylon market was as diverse as the repro leather market, if only so we werent hostages to the intricacies of the japanese shipping set up or the (justifiable) profit margins of domestic importers such as ELC and HPA.