• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Question about an "approximate" repro, and whether A2s ever had sheepskin collars

Hey all. So as I mentioned in my first post yesterday, I tried this jacket on and it was a really good fit:

As I'm relatively new to all this, I had a few questions:

1. I'm looking at a jacket primarily for some reenactment events, and though I'm hardly at the zipper- and clasp-level of accuracy, I did want something that more or less read right. Does this read right as either a G1 or an A2 (if the sheepskin is removed)? And see... I'm learning already! I didn't know a few days ago about the bi-swing aspect and G1s vs A2s, so now I'm thinking this jacket is much more based on a G1 than an A2 (besides just the sheepskin collar, though more on that below).

2. Did any A2s ever have sheepskin collars?

3. If a G1's sheepskin collar is removed, is it very close to an A2? (To my untrained eye they look extremely similar.) I know now about the bi-swing aspect and the fit. Curious about other major aspects.

Basically I'm wondering if this one looks fairly authentic, if it could pull double duty as either service's leather flight jacket, and if A2s ever had sheepskin. Thanks!

Last edited:

Chandler

To me, it reads as the "flight jackets" Schott has been selling for decades. Not terribly authentic, but certainly well made.

There is argument to be made that field alterations by individuals may have added fleece to an A-2 collar, but they weren't issued that way.

And this example is far from the sleek design of the G-1.

MikeyB-17