• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Patched and Painted WW2 A-2

hairpin151

I'm no expert but the paint and patch does'nt seem to have the same "patina" as the jacket to me,but again I'm no expert.

A

Anonymous

If you close at the jacket it has stich holes from a previous name tag and squadron patch ,this jacket may of been turned in to to be reissued to another crew member .So the art work may have been on there when reissued to the next guy ,the original patches were probably taken off by the first owner for keeps as a sounvenir . The jacket at that time was the property of the US army .Or the other reason is that I am wrong and someone has doctered it up to sell .

All the best Jeff .

Roughwear

The seller is a newbie so perhap one should take care buying this jacket from him. The start price is quite high and there is a reserve as well. The 8 balls patch may well be a later addition and the bombs on the back look pristine and may be post war as wear marks seem to run under them! It is a nice jacket, but without documented provenance it may be wise to give this one a miss. My money is on a recently embellished jacket in order to inflate the price.

bob capa

I was going to go after this but i became a little suspicious at the restiching of the nametag and 8 ball patch but as DubowA2 said the army diod own the jacket so it may have had more than one owner

the name tag looks like Paul M. Holmes

I had a look around the 44th BG site ecspecially in the 67th Sq. history unfortunatly i cannot ownload the others as im overseas with the aussie army and the internet is patchy at best but if anyone can find anything let me know

http://www.44thbombgroup.com/

cheers

A

Anonymous