• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Original L.W. Foster 7823(AER)

sobrien

Hello, am a newbie here. I come by my love of USN leather jackets by birth. My dad was a USN fighter and ASW pilot after WW2. He continued wearing his G-1 until he put on some weight. I wore it back in junior high but quickly out grew it. With his passing last year I received most of his aviation related belongings, including his log books and his G-1. I thought I might share some pics. It is his second jacket. The first he received in 1945 while in flight training. He had it until sometime in the mid 50's when it was stolen and he was issued the Foster.

I have a few questions.
Anyway to find out what year it was made?
And, is there any one who could make copies of the squadron patches?

Sean

Here's a picture of him when he qualified for his wings of gold in August,1946.

and here's a picture of him in 1952 while Exec of VS-22 with the Philip Morris midget: I've always wondered who the maker was. Any guesses?

So the Foster was issued after that. It has USA stamped on the back of the color, and the left pocket is noticeably bigger than the right. Before I new better, about 20 years ago I had a new zipper and the knits replaced so my dad could wear it to his ANA meetings. It is here modeled by my son, it no longer fits me.

Here is some better views of the squadron patches. I did find a copy of the VS-22 patch but it really doesn't compare with the orignal.
VS-22

VBF-17? VF-6B/ VF-62

a2jacketpatches