• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

My repro 91st Bombardment Group (Heavy), 401 Bombardment Sq

Anyone have a bomber jacket? :lol: Well, I am getting an WWII Government Issue A-2 Jacket military grade horsehide from "cockpit USA". I provided a pic of the one I purchased. I am a artist some what always have been, so I decided to make my own reproduction squadron patchs, and do the nose art on the back. The patch is made out of leather painted with acrylic and is 5" diameter. The unit that I chose is the 8th Army Air Force, 1st Air Division, 1st Combat Bomb Wing, 91st Bomb Group (Heavy), 401 Bomb Sq. "The Ragged Irregulars". The plane they Flew was the B-17 "Shoo Shoo Shoo Baby" Enjoy!

cockpitWWIIa-2.jpg

450280149_37f72ef9f6.jpg

These are the original patchs
401_bombardment_sq_91bg.jpg

91_bombardment_group_5in_B_17_1.jpg

1-3-200960815PM.jpg

1-8-2009104238PM.jpg

Tim P

welcome, nice work., I have always felt that the group and squadron patches constitutes a bit of over gilding and would normally follow accepted practice of the time and just use one or the other. it is of course your jacket and with your patches so nice I can see why you would want both on there but with the rank and SSI on there too it will be at the top end of what would have been badged.
I hope that the finished product will be good and that in due course you will post pics.
regards
Tim.

MikeyB-17