• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

My Recent Creations

dmar836

Have been on a jeans kick recently. I studied various USN dungarees, CCC/M35 jeans, and prewar US work trousers but I'm not done. Drafting a pattern is a headache. Then there are always things you wish to refine so each is an ongoing project. I also have many other projects going.
I have quite a few rolls of denim saved up - mostly from Pacific Blue but I also pick it up from upholstery shops/etc. if I like the feel.
Here are a few things I've done recently:

Late war '43/'44 dungarees. Fairly light 9oz denim(close to spec) but it's as if there is some stretch to the material and I don't like that. I think the pattern is pretty spot on. Very comfortable but with the 22" circumference legs they are not really too stylish. Belt loops are spec width but not what you typically see.
FullSizeRender-2.jpg
FullSizeRender-3.jpg

1918-ish 9oz.duck US Army work trousers(my interpretation). A lot of talk about brown denim but there are few examples to study. Duck was popular and easy to source. No cinch on the back of these. This is a precursor to a CCC pattern I want to do and needs refinement and more rise. Already have paint on them(house redo) and they have shrunken too short.
FullSizeRender-1.jpg
IMG_3647.JPG

IMG_3648.JPG

I made this pattern from some Lucky jeans I ruined in a moto accident years ago. I loved the fit so always kept them. This 11oz.ish denim was supposed to be standard indigo but was not blue with white weft but rather blue with blue weft so the back side is solid navy blue(note the cuffs). They are much darker in person. Used olive thread. I have a little over a year on(in) them. Had 70 yo pillow ticking pocket flaps and a tan vintage zip but those didn't last so have been replaced.
IMG_4539.JPG