• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Help me choose a new flight jacket

Steve_23

New member here. It’s a bit of a long post, but I tried to put in some research ahead of time, and didn't want to duplicate a thread.

I am looking to purchase a M422a or G-1 type jacket. I’ve read through pretty much all of the threads I could find between here, TFL and general google searches. My budget is approx $350-375, so the top-tier repros are out of budget. Here is what I’ve identified so far as important, but I am posting to ask your experts’ opinions and thoughts on what I have missed.

My goal is not a 100% period and contract specific jacket really, it is to have a jacket with reasonable quality, which looks good. I intend on actually wearing it often, (I fly for a living) so durability, that will wear well over time and good fit are most important. Not so much a collector piece, more of regular wear.

It seems like I am basically looking at either AVI or Five Star in terms of purchase at my budget, and after all of my reading, it seems like people are generally happy with either. Five Star seems to be more customized, but it sounds like I need to be super specific with them, whereas AVI has their production jackets.

With AVI, my choices seem to be their the G-1 or M422A. Both appear to be very similar in style, my guess is they are cut differently, but I haven’t found a good comparison between the two.

If I were to go with 5*:
-Need to have very specific measurements
-Request “premium, non-distressed” leather
-One item of confusion for me is the sheer number of different “contracts” of the same style (M422 or G1). How is one to pick from all of the potentials?
-Zippers seem to be in item for some, I am really just looking for something that works, and looks close enough.