• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Goat vs. Horse, Navy vs. Army

alfanator

Having acquired my first vintage G1 just last Summer and only wearing it for the last couple of months along with some A2s, as a total noob i have some observations. This is from my small sample size of 2 G1s, 1 M422a, 2 original A2s and a repro A2, so take it with a grain of salt.

Goat vs. Horse
Goat skin seems to be more durable and maintains its original condition much better than horse hide.
Horse seems to patina better but they also seem to experience more damage than goats over the years.

G1/M422s vs A2s
G1s are much more comfortable and functional than A2s.
G1's Bi-swing back makes it easy to wear and the inside pocket is nice to have.
Fur collar is nice in the cold, not as versitile in warmer situations like the A2 is.
A2s fit like a suit jacket and restricts movement just as much, generally looks smarter/neater than G1s.
I am indifferent as to how each looks, they both have their charms but if i had to choose just one it would probably be the Navy just from a pragmatic perspective. I wear a leather jacket are more casual wear for me and usually would like to have more freedom of movement than the A2s provide.

Your thoughts and experiences?

dilbert

Just an opinion, but I have both types of jackets. It seems to me that the A-2 is a bit "dressier", that is it seems a bit more appropriate for casual wear for up to where a tie might be required. The G-1 seems much more casual, mainly because of the collar and the jacket itself is a bit more busy (the back with the bi-swing and belt).