• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Gibson & Barnes M422a

Does anyone have a Gibson & Barnes M422a or G1 they could comment on ?

I was thinking of getting an ELC but looking on the G&B site their jackets look like a good spec and a really good price compared to ELC

Hamsterbear

I have a mint like new G&B m-422a in a 40Reg, which in reality fits like a 42-44reg as they are bigger than marked, that I may sell.
Nice jacket, I have another one I've been wearing for a few years now.
-Brian
BriansHPphotos958.jpg

zoomer

This is my Gibson in size 40. It'd do for a 42 but is a little trim for a 44.
The smallish parts for me are the sleeve lengths and the collar, which needed a hot water stretch to latch shut.
The pencil slot won't take an old type, fat body pen - too narrow.
Goatskin is somewhat stiff, loosening up after some soaking, and has a very crisp appearance.
Waistband has gone a little slack (it is the loose knit type without elastic).
Liner is a nice brick color rayon bemberg, letting go at the typical places (arm-to-back seams).
Zipper is a nickel Talon. It's hard to engage, as the male tab is very deeply recessed.

2126891489_128d6bbdee_o.jpg

1736342200_252f1313c6_o.jpg

1735487901_d8f06bd8e3_o.jpg

Thanks for the info Guys, some great pictures there as well.
I'm sorely tempted to order a G&B G1 for $380 which seems a very good price with current exchange rate.
But I still have a nagging doubt and think the ELC will be better , but then again..........

zoomer

Just relatively speaking, $200 extra does seem a lot for the 422 vs the G-1 considering they're so close in design. The big differences seem to be the color of the lining and collar fur and one slightly bigger pocket.