• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Double Needled California Sportswear

Maverickson

Recently I acquired a fine 7823 ( AER ) G-1 made by California Sportswear. Besides being in nearly perfect condition early on at one time or another unfortunately it must have come in contact with baking soda. Now, I have had some very successful experiences with using baking soda to remove bad odors from leather jackets but costly. Contrary to popular opinion within the forum it should be known that using baking soda on mid to late 1950s G-1 jackets with Conmar aluminum toothed zippers should never be attempted. This jacket is proof of that statement.
ZipperWork-1.jpg
WastedTeeth-1.jpg

These aluminum toothed Conmar zipper assemblies are very hard to find unless attached to 7823 (AER) model G-1. To keep such a unique jacket as original as possible a fine but quite unremarkable like donor jacket was purchased to harvest the same Conmar zipper assembly.

The picture seen below is of the donor jacket having been relieved of it's Conmar zipper assembly. It is interesting to note that the zipper assemblies are originally held in place by two separate stitches. The first stitch and the closest to the outside edge is invisible as it is folding into the zipper flap. When first attaching the zipper it is initially aligned and temporarily pinned or stapled then simply machine stitched in place. In doing so the zipper's initial alignment can be checked and or adjusted as necessary. The final or hand topstitch stitching will be the done using the double needle technique.

INSIDEZIPPERFLAPSTITCH.jpg