Can you ID this A-2?

Discussion in 'General Flight Jacket Discussion' started by Greg Gale, May 2, 2018.

1. Greg Gale

Greg Gale Member

Hi All,

I was told I can find the best A-2 jacket experts here. Could anyone help me ID George Preddy's A-2 jacket please? What contract is it?

Thanks a lot in advance!
    Greg

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Ole

Ole Member

a Goodwear?

3. Lorenzol

Lorenzol Member

Hi Greg,

Welcome to the forum. I am no expert, but the jacket in the 3rd picture down looks like an Aero to me, although I might stand to be corrected here. Too hard to say anything about the other pictures as I can see too little detail. There is good chance that he was wearing the same A2 during his tour though.
    Let's hear it for the experts!

4. Roughwear

Roughwear Well-Known Member

It is an Aero.

5. Silver Surfer

Silver Surfer Well-Known Member

aero. i cant make out if it has a collar stand, and if it does, i would recon a 1940-1941 16160. if not, one of the 1942 aero contracts.

6. Greg Gale

Greg Gale Member

Thanks for the quick replies! It indeed looks a lot like an Aero 16160. At first, the pointier collar and the narrow wrist made me think of a Star Sportswear, but the pocket flaps suggested otherwise.

7. Ken at Aero Leather

Ken at Aero Leather Well-Known Member

Aero, post collar stand, ....no I've not been to Specsavers.....the R/H side neck hook rivets are too low for there to be one

8. Steve27752

Steve27752 Well-Known Member

9. Roughwear

Roughwear Well-Known Member

I would agree Vic. It does appear to be a 16160 from November 1940.

10. Ken at Aero Leather

With respect, I'd have to disagree with you both, the (Female) collar hook would be much closer to the top edge of the lining if the jacket had a collar stand. therefore it must be a 1942 contract

11. Greg Gale

Greg Gale Member

Wow, I'm amazed how much you guys know about A-2s.

@Ken, which Aero contract do you think it is?

12. blackrat2

blackrat2 Active Member