• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

AN A2 AND i DON'T KNOW WHAT THE BOMBS AND ARTWORK MEANS.....

explorerblue57

HI ,I'M NEW TO THIS BOARD. I HAVE JUST POSTED ON EBAY AN A-2. IT BELONGED TO A DISTANT RELATIVE. DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT THE ART WORK ON THIS JACKET MEANS ? ALSO IF SOMEONE IS INTERESTED OR YOU KNOW OF ANYONE WHO IS LOOKING FOR AN A2 IN VERY GOOD CONDITION , IT'S FOR SALE ON EBAY.
I'D POST PICS HERE, BUT DON'T SEE HOW (NOVICE HERE)

Hamsterbear

explorerblue57 said:
HI ,I'M NEW TO THIS BOARD. I HAVE JUST POSTED ON EBAY AN A-2. IT BELONGED TO A DISTANT RELATIVE. DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT THE ART WORK ON THIS JACKET MEANS ? ALSO IF SOMEONE IS INTERESTED OR YOU KNOW OF ANYONE WHO IS LOOKING FOR AN A2 IN VERY GOOD CONDITION , IT'S FOR SALE ON EBAY.
I'D POST PICS HERE, BUT DON'T SEE HOW (NOVICE HERE)

Post the eBay link so we'll know what you are talking about.

442RCT

Bombs and artwork ?
Could it be this listing for your cousin's jacket ??
http://cgi.ebay.com/WWII-A-2-Leather-Bo ... 33595a54e4

381411613.jpg

381411614.jpg

381411615.jpg

bombs away

Hello,

What a beauty you have there ! It would fit perfectly in my collection. :mrgreen:
The patch is from the 392nd Bomb Group, 8th AF.
A very well known bomb group. There are a lot of patched jackets from this group in the last Maguire's book.

Tim.

bombs away

Just forgot the most important :

here is your cousin, John H. GALEA :
Demers.jpg

He's not wearing this jacket, or this one wasn't patched or painted at this time. It could be a picture taken before going overseas, so the jacket may have been "decorated" later.

Tim.

TankBuster

Very nice Crusaders jacket indeed. ;)
Tim, since the other guys have squadron patches on already, I'm thinking this photo was taken in England.