• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

816th Bomb Squadron Patch - REVISED

CBI

816th Bomb Squadron Patch - 15th Air Force. Incised leather.

IMG_2139.jpg

IMG_2142.jpg

SEE UPDATED POST BELOW

A

Anonymous

Re: 816th Bomb Squadron Patch

Hi CBI like the patch ,what type of paint are you using(oil or acryillic )and is that raw umber or burnt umber you coat over the patch to age it .Thanks for your contribution to the patch post ,your patch choices are units which rarely get exposure .

All the best Jeff

CBI

I always use enamels. Acrylic paints are a post-WWII invention and to me (sorry to say) it’s pretty rare to see patch art/jacket art done with acrylics that looks convincing (not suggesting I am an expert). I am not saying that the acrylic work is not good, it just always looks like a modern repro and not, “I just reached into a time vortex and pulled this patch off of a desk in 1940.” True, many patches survived the war with very little wear; I just like the multi-mission look. I think as seen with the 816th patch, I have been able to get the exact same texture/settling characteristics as WWII era lead based enamels. It’s taken a fair amount of experimentation. There are many techniques for ageing, partly the way I am painting them (dabbing the brush vs. brush stokes) as well as the wash (which is an acrylic paint). I also put a protective clear coat over them. Incidentally, I bent/folded the heck out of this patch AFTER I painted and aged it and there was no cracking of the enamel paint. If there was, it would possibly add to the look. I work the leather over beforehand so there is added texture. I have horsehide pieces for patches but I am saving those for "real" jobs - as part of complete jacket projects. The three patches posted recently are just for fun however I did t